astonished

To quote the Billy Connelly videos I used to watch in my youth I was “Shocked and Stunned” this trip as to the amount of churches that had been turned into nightclubs and restaurants. It is not a completely foreign concept to me, back where I used to live there was an old Anglican church turned into a pizza shop – the pizza oven where the altar used to be was a little spooky. When a few years later it turned into a Bavarian Beer Cafe I was a little more intrigued I will have to admit, but nothing prepared me for my wanders around Edinburgh on the weekend.

As I walked down the hill from Edinburgh Castle there was a large church, had to have been a cathedral, an incredible piece of Christian Architecture. As I turned the bend it became evident that it was now a coffee shop. Further review of the signpost revealed a couple of nightclubs for good measure.

Heading back down Holyrood Road I found the fine example in the picture below. Not only was it no longer a church, but some respectful sod has decided that “Sin – club and lounge” was an acceptable use for a church. Even my colleague walking with me who was not religious found it too crass for his liking.

I suppose we have gone this far in our humanistic and hedonistic planet, but even in my less “spiritual” days I would never have felt this appropriate. We have lost not only the fear of God, the love for Christ but general respect that we should show to all comers.

Makes me want to buy it back and turn it into a drug rehab clinic.

Sorry, I just don’t get it . . .

“And the destruction of the transgressors and of the sinners shall be together, and they that forsake the LORD shall be consumed.” Isaiah 1:28

