manifesting manifesto

Like many around the world I was stunned beyond believe at the events recently in Norway. Like the many school shootings we have seen over the years sent to us by US news channels and our own (in Australia) Strathfield, Hoddle St & Port Arthur massacres (albeit on a smaller scale) there is always a crying out of why did this occur. Sometimes we are told of years of troubled childhood, issues with mental stability or that of an outcast.

Working from home preparing for a flight today I had the news station on in the background as they were discussing this killer. With the exception of the act itself – a torrent of pure hatred – this man seemed very much to have his life in order. OK, so a 1500 page manifesto is not something most sane people devote 9 years of their life to, but there seemed to be logic and rationality in his past behaviour.

I went to several internet sites that had clippings or links to the manifesto. I managed to get through around 30 pages or so before putting it down. I don’t know whether I will read it all or not, unlikely at best, but it started off on some tangents that many people would agree with. Although using bigger words than probably necessary (for me), the pages I was reading took aim primarily at political correctness and Islamic apologetics.

Political correctness has always driven me nuts! Probably partly due to being Australian, and partly my sinful human nature mixed with grumblings of all sorts. In many ways I find it most offensive to the people it is trying to be tactful for in many ways. I suppose as a society we have denigrated to the fact that we have to “be nice to certain minority segments of the week” rather than being nice to, well, everybody like we are called to by God.

On this Islamic apologetics side, the one area that wounds me the most comes usually from Christian clerics, mostly of the protestant variety, who in a spirit of “peace” pray together with Muslims and talk about the links between the faiths.  Tolerance should not mean that we have to through away our doctrine in order to live with each other. As a Christian it is my calling to reject false doctrine, without being silenced, but with love for those who have not seen the truth.

And this is what hit me about this attack the most. Pour through the Scriptures and the Church Fathers and you will see no rallying cry for a one-man army against what you don’t agree with. There is “turn the other cheek” as opposed to turn on those who do not see things your way. This supposedly Christian man took it upon him self to plan and commit a most horrible series of mass murders.

This is why I will not read any more of his words. Any second of my time should be focused on praying for the souls of those he cut down in his rage. Whatever we see as truth in those who commit horrible things, the horrible things outweigh the good.

I now see on the CNN / BBC broadcasts in my hotel room in Thailand that he may have been part of a group of cells. Far too much “eye for an eye” being read out of the scriptures, not enough “love your neighbor as yourself”

Lord Have Mercy

Psalm 90 (91) KJV

1 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
         Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
 2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
         My God, in Him I will trust.” 

 3 Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler
         And from the perilous pestilence.
 4 He shall cover you with His feathers,
         And under His wings you shall take refuge; 
         His truth shall be your shield and buckler.
 5 You shall not be afraid of the terror by night,
         Nor of the arrow that flies by day,
 6 Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness,
         Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday. 

 7 A thousand may fall at your side,
         And ten thousand at your right hand; 
         But it shall not come near you.
 8 Only with your eyes shall you look,
         And see the reward of the wicked. 

 9 Because you have made the LORD, who is my refuge,
         Even the Most High, your dwelling place,
 10 No evil shall befall you,
         Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling;
 11 For He shall give His angels charge over you,
         To keep you in all your ways.
 12 In their hands they shall bear you up,
         Lest you dash your foot against a stone.
 13 You shall tread upon the lion and the cobra,
         The young lion and the serpent you shall trample underfoot. 

 14 “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him;
         I will set him on high, because he has known My name.
 15 He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him;
         I will be with him in trouble; 
         I will deliver him and honor him.
 16 With long life I will satisfy him,
         And show him My salvation.”

