searching for stillness (still)

In perhaps a proof the theory that nothing is ever that simple, I once again find myself on a business trip contemplating my search for stillness. Just a short trip this time, down to Melbourne (at least in my home country) but faced with limited success over the last couple of weeks to get into a routine of carving out that period of time to be close to God.

Since returning from my last overseas trip I have been mostly in my home town, but catching up on so much work and home and church that my routine has gone haywire. Maybe it is just me, but the weight of not seeing a routine forming almost drives me into a senseless spiral of apathy.

So here I am again, on my own, down south of the border. This week I am going to do my utmost to focus on some simple practices to get the rhythm back. Carve a little time out for practicing the Jesus Prayer and spent more contemplative time in the hotel room reading some spiritual books (found a few more Orthodox ones on Amazon for my Kindle) catching up on some work so when I return home I can have more time for other things.

So far so good, but it is only Tuesday . . .

Lord Jesus Christ, son of God, have mercy on me a sinner

