servants obey your masters

Reading through Ephesians 6 waiting for the train today and came across this passage (although I was reading an RSV Translation with “Slaves”). For all intents and purposes I had a shocking day at work; the usual surprises, too much work for the amount of time or resources, and an abundance of additional nuances to add pressure and future planning. For the first time in a long time I answered a colleague with “Fantastic” when asked how I was in the midst of this chaos, and was not being sarcastic (and it took a great deal to convince her that I wasn’t being sarcastic).

Whether it was the afterglow of the feast the weekend previous, some rest on the weekend (less likely as there was many hours at the laptop catching up from that “Friday Off”) or some good news heard,  I started on a positive note and managed to get through it with sanity more intact than usual. Then to be presented providentially with this verse as the next item on my reading list gave me re-enforcement of why I should always react like this.

5 Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; 6 Not with eyeservice, as jmenpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart; 7 With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men: 8 Knowing that whatsoever good thing any man doeth, the same shall he receive of the Lord, whether he be bond or free. 9 And, ye masters, do the same things unto them, forbearing threatening: knowing that your Master also is in heaven; sneither is there respect of persons with him. (Eph 6:5-9 KJV)

While I am by no means a slave, and I do enjoy my work (like everyone, some days permitting) there is always another master (everyone has a boss) and it is not always obvious for our fallen human nature to walk through the daily grind calmly dedicating all we do to our Lord and Saviour.

I am glad to have received this timely reminder to take the spirit of this day onward to times when my feelings are not so inclined.

