all saints resolutions

Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven. 33 But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.

He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38 And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. 39 He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.

27 Then answered Peter and said unto him, Behold, we have forsaken all, and followed thee; what shall we have therefore? 28 And Jesus said unto them, Verily I say unto you, That ye which have followed me, in the regeneration when the Son of man shall sit in the throne of his glory, ye also shall sit upon twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. 29 And every one that hath forsaken houses, or brethren, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my name’s sake, shall receive an hundredfold, and shall inherit everlasting life. 30 But many that are first shall be last; and the last shall be first. [Matthew 10:32,33,37-38; 19 27-30 (§38) – KJV]

The Gospel reading above comes from today’s celebration of the feast of all Saints, the first Sunday after we have celebrated the descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles and the beginning of the Church.

As I was reading this during the Liturgy today I was calmed by the simplicity of the words of Christ; confess Him before the people of the world and forsake everything in His name. Quite an easy understanding, not necessarily something we want to hear. “The first shall be last; and the last shall be first” – the more power and responsibility we have in this world the more we have to be as servants, not really a pervasive doctrine in the corporate world.

This reading and today’s liturgy left me with the feeling of a call to arms. Why not think of the feast of All Saints as a resolution point, a time to remember the need to focus on Christ and forsake all of those obstacles that divert us from His love.

