a more orthodox logos (update)

Further to my previous article, I tripped over a feed on Twitter (@LogosOrthodox) which is described as “Scripture-study software for ministry, teaching, and personal devotion. Discover the ancient faith of the Orthodox Church with @Logos Bible Software.”

So it seems that the trend of more evangelicals looking back to the writings of the Ancient Fathers along with no doubt many Orthodox wanting acccess to this information and the tools for Bible study is being positive to their bottom line, and had become more important. Many of the items in the feed are in pre-pub status (meaning they are to be produced, and you can bid on them now for future use) but the bid prices are quite reasonable.

Have a look at the @LogosOrthodox feed and get on the bandwagon, it will benefit us all.

I have been a user of the bible study software logos for some time now. First, back when I was protestant I used it as a tool for putting together bible studies and for some study that I did. More recently (a year or two back when I started looking to take an Orthodox Theology course) I purchased a version to help prepare for exams and write essays.

Given that the market for the software would mostly be evangelical protestant there was little Orthodox material save for a pack of Early Church Fathers. More recently I purchased the Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture – and I am glad I did as it doesn’t seem to be sold by them anymore.

This, along with more translations of the scriptures than one would of thought possible still makes it quite a powerful package, once I worked out how to narrow the searches down to a collection of texts that were Orthodox in nature.

Today I got a delightful surprise in my inbox to find another set of Orthodox literature in pre-publication, 10 volumes of the Popular Patristics Series published by St Vladimir’s Seminary Press. I do own many of these in paperback but it will be a welcome addition to the searchable material. I also am waiting since late last year for the Works of St. Cyril of Alexandria to be completed.

Logos is a very powerful tool, and citing passages from it in essays can be quite easy once you get the hang of it. If you cut & paste in the write way into MS-Word, the footnotes instantly pop into the footer of the document.

We seem finally to be getting more Orthodox material in electronic formats from many publishers. i am soon going to put together a list of what I have found so far for my Kindle in case others are interested.

